Oregon Sex Offender FAQ
Is there an Oregon State Sex Offender web site to access offender information?
Not currently. Some counties maintain a public web site which lists high risk, predatory offenders currently under supervision by Community Corrections. Contact your local Community Corrections office for additional information.
How can I get a list of sex offenders in my neighborhood?
A list of offenders, both on and off supervision, can be obtained by calling the Oregon State Police at 503-378-3725 Extension 4429. You will need to leave your name, mailing address, and the city, zip code information you want. Most requests are processed within 2-3 days, however, it can take up to one week depending on circumstances.
What does “Predatory Sex Offender” mean?
An individual who exhibits characteristics showing a tendency to victimize or injure others and who has been convicted of a sex crime. The “predatory” designation allows law enforcement, or the supervising agency, to notify the community about a particular sex offender.
Are all sex offenders considered “Predatory”?
No. The Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision (for parolees), Community Corrections (for probationers) and Oregon State Police (for persons convicted of sex crimes in other states moving into Oregon and persons off of supervision) must make a finding of predatory, based on an assessment of the offender’s crimes and history. This assessment is based, in part, on previous history and the facts surrounding the sex offense conviction.
Are all sex offenders required to register?
No. The list of sex offenders required to register can be found in ORS 181.594. The first registration laws went into effect in Oregon in 1989. Since that time, additional crimes have been added to the list. There are a number of people living in Oregon whose sex offense convictions predate the registration requirements. Others have convictions which allow for relief from registration 10 years after their supervision ends.
How long are sex offenders required to register?
Oregon is a lifetime registration state for convictions of Class A and B Felony. This includes persons deemed predatory. If the sex offender has a sex offense conviction of Class C Felony or less (misdemeanor), they can apply for relief from the registration obligation no sooner than 10 years after their supervision ends. Application is made to the district attorney in the county in which they are residing and a court hearing is scheduled. For more information about relief from reporting requirements, see ORS 181.600 (adults) and ORS 181.607 (juveniles).
Where can I find the definitions for Oregon sex crimes?
The definitions for sexual offenses in Oregon can be found in ORS 163.305 to 163.467.
For further information, visit the Oregon State Police website: http://egov.oregon.gov/OSP/SOR/faqs.shtml